Thursday, July 08, 2010


The powers of Congress are classified as follows:
  1. Legislative power in general
  2. Specific legislative powers
  3. Non-legislative powers
  4. Implied powers
  5. Inherent powers.
Legislative power in general.
Legislative power in general refers to the power to enact laws, which includes the power to alter or repeal them. Said power starts formally from the time a bill or a proposed law is introduced by a member of the House of Representatives or a Senator. Once approved  by Congress, and the President, the said bill becomes a law.

Specific legislative powers.
These are the powers expressly conferred by the Constitution. They are: power of appropriation, power taxation and power of expropriation.

Non-legislative powers.
These are the powers which are not basically legislative in nature but which are performed by Congress. Examples are power to propose amendments to the Constitution, power to impeach, power to canvass presidential elections and power to declare the existence of a state of war.
Implied powers.
These are the powers which are not expressly conferred by the Constitution but which are implied from those expressly granted. Examples are: power to punish a person in contempt during or in the course of legislative investigation and power to issue summons and notices in connection with matters subject of its investigation or inquiry.

Inherent powers
These are the powers which are inherent to the exercise of legislative powers like the power to determine the rules of its proceedings.


  1. Hello maam :) Do you have a summarize of the power of the congress?

  2. Hindi naman pala itutuloy pero minadali kunayre, para makuha na ang kumisyon sa supplier! Perang maliwanag na nga naman agad! Mahusay ka! Galawang #condomqueen talaga! Nahiya ang mga Hokage sayo!





    Paulyn Ubial